Cyprus Accession in the EU chapter 1 cy

National law – CY – Legal system – module 1

The Treaty of Accession of Cyprus to the European Union (‘EU’) signed by President Tassos Papadopoulos on 16 April 2003 forms the legal cornerstone of the path of Cyprus towards full membership to the EU. It also represents a strong indication of the future of Cyprus. The Treaty also is an achievement for Cyprus in relation to gaining European status notwithstanding that the nation is geographically and historically located in the continent.

Cyprus ratified the Treaty on 14 July 2003. Within a year, on 1 May 2004 the Republic become a full member state of the EU at the same time as Estonia, Poland, Hungary, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia, Slovenia and The Czech Republic.

Accession of Cyprus to the EU meant that the Republic’s Constitution underwent amendment so that the law of the EU was supreme over national legislation including the Constitution.

Joining the European Union

There are numerous reasons that lead to small countries such as Cyprus to join the EU. The most dominant is for economic benefits that can help the countries growth. The European Union also offers wide benefits to member states such as loans and bail outs in recessions and other economic downturns. A second reason that can be submitted is that the political interests are attractive which allow member states to become involved in large political decisions. Finally, the security that the European Union can offer to member states is a very attractive benefit as although small, is a useful security protection that they have access to.

Milestones in the Cyprus Path to the EU:


SEE ALL Add a note
Add your Comment

Advanced Course Search Widget ©

Setup Menus in Admin Panel